top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureJosselyn Radillo

Review: Kitty Hawk and The Curse of the Yukon Gold.


My Thoughts

Is been such a long time since I posted a book review but here I’m back at what I love and a month ago I got this amazing book from Ian Reading. This is definitely a refreshing read with a heroine that every can love. Kitty is a girl interested in marine life, geography, history and real life adventures. This thriller isn’t about ghost or vampire in sight. FANTASTIC!

Kitty Hawk is a 19 year old girl with a lot of dreams and an adventurous soul. She has her pilot’s license and wants to study the feeding habits and migration patterns of whales off the coast of Alaska. She ask a sponsorship from an adventure clothing company and flies from her home in Tofino, Canada to Juneau, Alaska where she will stay with family friends in this way she can save her money on fuel. In every chapter we learn more about whales and the area of Juneau and the history of the Yukon and the gold rush. Kitty’s inquisitive nature gets her into some real life and death scrapes.

I’ll start with saying that I loved that this was told in the first person and even thought she might sound annoying sometime, I could understand it because she was young and this was a big experience for her. The only thing I didn’t liked was that she kept jumping back and forward in time with old things that happened to her but at the same time was an insight on her past.

One thing that I loved about Kitty was that she is so sassy and funny. While you get into the story you learn at the same time historical facts about Juneau and the Yukon gold Rush. I found myself involved in plenty of action, danger (sometimes I could feel her fears) and great twists. In every chapter I loved how we can see the maps and like that sums up and make it more real (at least for me) this is a great way to visit in your head a place you don’t know at all.

Overall the author did a great job with his refreshing book and now he has me as a fan. The author added references at the end of the book about animals, places and people that are part of the story. I want to thank Ian for giving Kitty a tough, soft (when needed it) and adventurous spirit. I highly recommend this book for every booklover.

Get the book HERE!!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page