top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureJosselyn Radillo

Blogging Hack: Creating Flat Lays ft. DressLily


Hi Dolls! There's more to it than meets the eye. It's a new year, so I thought to share some tips and tricks! Today I'm going to be showing you how I create flat lays for Koko's Secrets, the @kokossecrets Instagram page and my clients ft. DressLily

The #flatlay has become one of the most popular types of photos, especially on Instagram, but unfortunately the 'effortlessly picture' isn't as easy to create as others think. And so, I've put together so tips I use to create an amazing flat lay that'll get attention to your feed. 1. LIGHTING: The most important element in any photo is often natural lighting and a flat lay is no exception. You should set up your flat lays next to a window during the daytime. 2. THE HIGHLIGHT & BACKGROUND:

We need to keeping in mind the objects we want to highlight, choose a background for your flat lay that will compliment it. I almost always go for something white or light, but it really depends on the look you want to get. The secret is to buy different surfaces that you can use just for this. I'd always used a spare white sheet, white and colorful foamy or actual surfaces in my house like the desk or kitchen table but I'm always looking for things I can grab to any place and recently I noticed that a DressLily they have a section for home and deco and there they have bunch of Wall Tapestries. The best thing is that they are affordable as well. It's a great idea to add texture as well. then we have to add the product in the frame we really need to take into account the orientation. At this point we move things thousandths of times until we find the right spot.

I'm using the Stone Brick Wall Tapestries get it HERE 3. STORY & BALANCE:

Now is time to I add a few more medium-sized objects to the flat lay to balance the image. Avoid to add completely random objects. Instead, you should create a story based on the product and be as authentic as possible. It's important to maintain the theme and color. 4. FILLING WITH ACCESSORIES:

And finally we need to fill the space with smaller objects, which is going to make the flat lay really eye-catching and special.. Just remember to stay true to yourself, include pieces that may actually surround you in that story or moment.

You can check out the final #flatlay I published on Instagram here. I hope you enjoyed this hack post! Let me know if you want another tip or hack for next month!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page